Incredible India: Agra, Nainital

My first trip to India was not long but I managed to see a few totally different places. After spending more than a week in Delhi Agra was quite an obvious spotΒ – I have dreamt about seeing Taj Mahal since I was a kid. My friends from Delhi were SO kind, they didn’t let me go by train so we rented a car and travelled all the way to Agra stopping by in a village full of temples. I had a chance to see the roads, colorful trucks, the crowd, the dust and stunning landscapes of indian villages. We had a bad moment when our car just stopped in the middle of the way and the engine didn’t work (so didn’t air conditioning). I think it was the first time in my life I felt I am dying on the leather car’s seat, in heat, dust, 30 minutes lasted forever until somebody helped us. After that everything was smooth. No surprise that I was amazed by the beauty of Taj Mahal – the tomb which is also a symbol of love. One of the world’s wonders attracts A LOT of people so we just jumped into the crowd but it was totally worth. We behaved as everyone else – took a lot of photos πŸ˜‰ The whole picture was just amazing and we’ve spent there whole day, walking, watching, touching (the marble of course). There is not much to add apart from the pictures.

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0076.JPG
D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0085.JPG

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0088.JPG

Awesomeness

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0103.JPG

Typical touristy thing ;p

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0110.JPG

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0106.JPG

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0118.JPG

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0121.JPG

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0122.JPG

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0125.JPG

The best possible pair of people to introduce a newcomer to India!

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0127.JPG

The main gate

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0141.JPG

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0143.JPG
D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0147.JPG

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0154.JPG

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0156.JPG

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0161.JPG

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0182.JPG

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0183.JPG

IMG_1088

 

Agra is not only Taj Mahal of course. The next day we visited the Red Fort, which was huge and we spent many hours just wandering and chilling. Red Fort is included inΒ World Heritage ListΒ of UNESCO and comes from 16th century.

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0207.JPG

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0218.JPG

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0236.JPG

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0266.JPG

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0271.JPG

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0277.JPG

Taj Mahal from the other side

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0302.JPG

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0350.JPG

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0354.JPG

Our visit was rather short – we only spent 3 days in Agra and surroundings. Even though I was amazed by everything, typically for the first time in new country. I enjoyed the road trip (in India it has a whole new meaning), the places and the sights. It was totally a must-see thing and I would gladly come back.

Another trip that we made was an escape – from the heat in Delhi (I also thought we are escaping from the crowd but no way). Again with rented car and the same great driver we went to Nainital – hill station near Himalayas. It wasn’t chilling, it was COLD. I wasn’t prepared so I had to buy clother and cover up in a few scarfs. The place was foggy and humid but the landscapes were stunning. I was like a kid guided by everyone and thanks to that I have done a lot during short four-days trip. They have beautiful lake, mountains, gardens and markets and of course a lot of tourists, but this time I have only met Indian tourists, fair enough πŸ˜‰ Also the ride up to the city was an experience itself. We walked around, hikied a bit, visited a park, got lost in caves, took a boat, went up by cable car to see the city and the lake from above, went horse riding and just chilled with great food having nice relief from the heat.

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0078.JPG

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0094.JPG

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0108.JPG

We went horseriding and I was scared to death – my horse was the wildest + they gave me a guide who was a boy around 10 years old, he didnt speak English but somehow he understood that I would like to have some more experienced company and he brought a man who could only say “tiger” pointing somewhere nearby. I was lucky enough to experience how is it to be left alone with a horse on the slope of huge monutain in the middle of nowhere. Incredible India! ;p It was worth at the end because of the views and this place was a different picture of India. Two years later I have visited hill station again, that time famous Darjeeling. I also had some regrets that I didnt have a chance to use Indian train but two years later I had enough of them anyway.

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0114.JPG

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0161.JPG

IMG_0750

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0209.JPG

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0199.JPG

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0208.JPG

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0067.JPG

D:DCIM100MEDIAIMG_0171.JPG

IMG_0668
IMG_0826

 

Next time I will write about more recent visit to amazing Indian places – I ended up living in India for half a year so it is a lot to show πŸ™‚

 

